Have You Been Accused Of Drunk Driving?
DUI Charges in Washington
Like many states, Washington takes a hard line on impaired driving. For a first offense with blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 to.15, a convicted driver can receive a sentence of up to a year in jail, and a 90-day suspension of driving privileges.
“From your initial arraignment hearing and throughout the process, Jeremiah Styles will stand with you, providing valuable counsel and legal protection.”
If your BAC is higher than .15 or you have a past conviction on your record, the penalties are proportionally stiffer. With multiple past DUIs on your record, you can receive a felony charge. Any Washington DUI conviction remains on your criminal record for 15 years, negatively impacting educational, personal, and professional opportunities.
What To Do If You Are Pulled Over
From the moment you are asked to pull over under suspicion of DUI, the officer will be closely scrutinizing your behavior. He or she is looking for probable cause to arrest you based on what you do and say. It is important to be cooperative and polite, but you have the right to avoid incriminating yourself.
If the truth would not be in your favor, you can decline to answer questions and ask to speak to a lawyer immediately. However, it is important to understand implied consent laws: to avoid automatic loss of your license, it is mandatory that you submit to the officer’s request for a breath or blood alcohol test.
Fighting A DUI Conviction
Police arrest protocol can be important in these cases. There are many potential ways to fight DUI charges. The results of portable breathalyzer machines and field sobriety tests are questionable, and have often been successfully challenged in court. Even the more reliable urine and blood tests are sometimes inaccurate, affected by the defendant’s health condition and other factors. Attorney Styles will ensure your constitutional rights are protected. A surprising number of DUI cases are dismissed solely because of officer error.
From your initial arraignment hearing and throughout the process, we will stand with you, providing valuable counsel and legal protection. For a first DUI offense especially, we can often negotiate a reduction in charges. We can also help you retain your driving privileges with representation at a DMV hearing, which must be requested within 20 days of your arrest.
If the evidence is stacked against you, our criminal defense lawyer can negotiate to lessen penalties. In some cases, you can choose to pursue a “deferred prosecution,” or extended probation. Conversely, we are prepared to take your case to court, if this would be in your best interest.
Contact An Attorney
Styles Law offers reasonable attorney fees for DUI defense representation and we can help with bail and release. Contact Styles Law using our online form or call 425-553-4667. Se Habla Español. Linea para español.